Amalfi Coast, Best Weekend Ever

Warning: This post may be super long because I don’t want to leave any thing out of this amazing weekend I had.

My weekend started Thursday night when we departed the bus station for an unexpected 7 hour ride to Sorrento. I don’t know why I thought the bus ride would be a 3 hour ride max but I was shocked when I found it was over 7 hours because everyone knows I do not do well on busses. Once I took a dramamine and melatonin I fell right asleep and didn’t wake up until we got there so I would say it was much smoother than I expected. We got to Sorrento around 2:30 am and had to wake up to leave for Positano at 8 am so it was a good thing we all slept on the bus. We stayed in a hostel that was actually much nicer than I expected from listening to everyone else’s hostel horror stories. We had a room with 12 girls so 6 sets of bunk beds and we roomed with all Marist girls. The hostel had a happy hour from 7-9 every night which could not be missed because they had this drink called Sex on Sorrento that was probably the best drink I’ve ever tasted. They also bumped music until midnight every night so it felt like we were staying in a club.

Friday morning we woke up early and left for Positano at 9 am. The beach and town of Positano was honestly the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. It was full of colorful houses and the ocean was clear blue. We walked 40 minutes downhill to the beach because we got dropped off on the top of Positano so on our walk down we walked by many cute boutiques. We layed our towels out and of course took our photos before we ate lunch and went in the water. We ate at the best panini place and of course I had prosciutto, mozzarella, tomato and peppers. (I’ve probably eaten this every single day since I’ve been here) After soaking up the sun for a solid three hours we decided to hit the boutiques. They were all wicked expensive so we mostly just window shopped until we found this really cute handmade store where we all bought coverups or tops. (I’ll post my purchases later) We left Positano around 5 and then went to downtown Sorrento for dinner and I had the nicest meal I’ve had since I’ve been here. I’ve been eating way too much pasta and pizza so I got a chicken, potatoes and spinach dish that was soo good. We then went to a bar that was really fun but we wanted to go home early enough so we wouldn’t be too tired/hungover for the next full day.

DSCN1174

DSCN1169

The next morning we left even earlier to catch the ferry to Capri. If you know my fear of busses, well my fear of ferry’s is ten times worse because when I was younger I would always throw up on them. Luckily, I was okay during the ferry ride and then we took a cruise and explored the whole island of Capri. We did so many cool things in Capri but one of my highlights was exploring the Blue Grotto. This is when me and 4 friends got into a little row boat and went into a cave where the water turns blue when light reflects into it. It was so cool and scary at the same time because the cave was so tiny you had to lay completely on your back or you’d hit your head on the cave. We all had a mini panic attack. The second coolest thing we did was get on a chair lift that took us all the way to the top of Capri. It was probably the scariest thing I’ve ever done because we were so high up and the chair lift was just one person at a time so we were alone in the air for 13 minutes. But once you got to the top the view was so worth it and was definitely one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. Finally, we went to a shop called Carlos where he makes customizable leather sandals and gives a discount to students. You were able to pick the style and color out so I did a brown gladiator sandal that wraps up to my knee. (will post a pic wearing them soon!)

IMG_9357

IMG_9297

Our final day was spent in Pompeii where we had a guided tour of the city in ruins. It was really amazing to see because we learn about it in history classes and now we actually get to see it in person. We were all a little tired and run down at this point and it was the hottest day of the weekend so it was a struggle going on a 2 hour tour but my friend Lauren who is a huge history buff loved it so I tried to stay positive throughout it. We were so hungry after the tour and our tour guide recommended us this pizza place so we decided to go there along with the rest of the group so we literally waited 2 hours for our food and by the time we got it we had to leave so it was a little disappointing we couldn’t see more of Pompeii. We left for Florence at 2:15 and got back at 8:30 which wasn’t too bad even though I couldn’t really fall asleep on the bus.

DSCN1396

This weekend was unbelievable and I still cannot believe I am here seeing the most beautiful places in the world. I have to recover this week because next weekend we leave for Oktoberfest which is going to be crazy!!

Leave a Reply

