Fall Break aka Best Week of my Life

Wow I really don’t know where to start when trying to write about my 10 day fall break except that it was probably the best week of my entire life. We started in Prague, which was one of the coolest cities I’ve ever been to. The highlight of this city was definitely the night life. We went to an 80’s/90’s club the first night that was SO fun because they played a ton of throwback songs and we danced on a stage all night. The next night we went on a pub crawl to a bunch of different bars in the city that was so fun. We also had the best walking tour of the week there because our tour guide was so entertaining and showed us all the most interesting places in the city, including the Clock Tower, the Jewish Quarter and Old Town Square. We also went to the John Lennon wall where we of course got many cool picture opportunities!

11666266_10153780663882962_5363189166050624813_n

After Prague we left for Berlin, which I also liked more than I expected. In Berlin we saw the Berlin Wall, the TV Tower, and had a walking tour of the whole city where we learned a lot of history about the city. I must say Germany is one of my favorite places for food because they have the best sausages, beef stew and pretzels. It is a nice change from the Italian we are used to. We also discovered Wok to Walk here which is the best thing that was ever invented!!! It’s basically the chinese version of Chipotle and is SO good. All my friends who have gone abroad talk about it all the time so I finally realized why! My favorite part was the Berlin Wall and looking at all the artwork because it was really cool and beautiful.

12194689_1181331355216632_1336901124729648558_o

12191682_10208091323787857_1896885742695691529_n

All the girls at Marist who studied abroad!

After Berlin we went to Amsterdam which was probably my absolute favorite! I thought the culture was soo different here and everyone was so much more chill and relaxed than I’ve ever seen before. Not sure if it is because marajuana is legal here and it is sold in at least one shop on every street, which I couldn’t believe. It was also so beautiful there with all the canals and tall houses. It reminded me of Venice. The highlight of my trip was seeing the Fault in Our Stars bench and of course taking a picture on it. We also went to the Anne Frank House which I was very impressed with and so glad we woke up at 5:45 am to go to. We also went to the Van Gogh museum as well that I really enjoyed. And of course we couldn’t leave without taking a picture in front of the IAmsterdam sign. I will never forget the amazing food we ate here too. They are famous for their fries which were amazing and also their breakfast foods like pancakes and crepes that I still dream about. We had the most time in Amsterdam and spent it very well by trying to fit in as much as we could.

12118820_1205389439477005_1815745877382190193_n

Once we left Amsterdam we made a pit stop in Brussels basically just for Belgian waffles. We had 2.5 hours to eat lunch and get a waffle then we were back on the bus for Paris. The waffle was honestly the best thing I’ve ever eaten and thinking about it right now I really want one. We arrived in Paris in the evening and because we had a mix up with our hostel we didn’t make the Eiffel tower light show until midnight but it was well worth it. When I saw the Eiffel Tower I was honestly in awe and it exceeded my expectations completely. When it lit up at midnight it was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. Paris was also one of my favorites because of all the famous things there like the Louvre, Versailles, Love Lock Bridge and the Eiffel Tower that I saw. I was also surprised at how spacious and spread out it was. It took us a 40 minute metro to get to the Eiffel Tower, over an hour to get to Versailles and a half hour to get to the Louvre. I didn’t know that and I almost studied abroad here and I am so glad I didn’t because I felt very unsafe here and did not like how big it was. It was the perfect three days there though and that was enough for me.

12193543_1205393212809961_4104763105253000549_n

12193337_10205258872371259_2302325764864587006_n

Overall, it was the perfect week. My eight friends and I shared a room and surprisingly we didn’t get sick of each other once and had the time of our lives together. It was a week I’ll never forget and will never be able to say I was in 5 countries in 10 days again and I am so thankful for this experience. There is so much more I want to write about this trip but I can’t even really put it into words and I don’t want to write a novel for you guys.

But…. 4 DAYS UNTIL MY PARENTS COME!! 🙂 🙂 CAN’T WAIT

Af

Leave a Reply

