Week One Done

I officially survived my first week in the city and I must say it is way easier living here than I expected. My biggest fear living here would be constantly getting lost or having no idea how to get to and from places via subway because everytime I have visited the city I have had no idea what I was doing. But I must say I have caught on quite quickly. I mean I am still an avid Google Maps user but besides that I have pretty much got the hang of it and feel very comfortable and safe here. Having my dorm in one of the nicest neighborhoods in the city also plays a huge role in it. But so far I have been living it up with meeting friends for dinner and drinks after work in the city, visiting Marist friends in Hoboken over the weekend and making a ton of new friends in the city. I know it has only been a week but I can’t see myself living at home after college because this just confirms how much I want to move to the city after graduation.

So moving on to my internship at Ross… I love it! It has already been such a great experience so far and I still have nine more weeks. I have learned so much from my buyer who I will be shadowing everyday of the internship and my assistant buyer who is actually a Marist alum! We have classes everyday for about 2-3 hours everyday ranging from Retail Math, Art of Negotiation, Professionalism and Excel. This internship is such a great program because it gives you a good feel to see if buying and off price companies are a right fit for you. They say that this is a 10-week interview because they hire a lot of their interns after the summer and this is why they give us such thorough training. So far I really like buying and can totally see myself working as a buyer in the future because it is a very fast paced job. You are out of the office 3-4 times a week in the market negotiating prices for products you want to sell (I’m going to the market tomorrow!) and you are also working on spreadsheets and doing lots of math which I surprisingly don’t mind. My days mostly consist of training the next two weeks and then it will pick up during week 3 doing more independent work.

This is my office 1372 Broadway!

On Friday we had a scavenger hunt where they gave us random teams and had to find all the different clues in the city


Another great thing about being in the city is that almost half my friends are either here or commuting into the city so endless amounts of happy hours! Working 8:30-5:30 is a long day especially still just getting used to it so we like to treat ourselves at least twice a week to a happy hour… Makes the week go by faster. There are also endless amounts of food and restaurants I want to try! My roommate and I made a list of places we want to go and try to check a few off once a week. Our apartment is also in a great location right along the water so I run the Chelsea Pier everyday after work… To be honest I only do it so I can have that ice cream later but whatever keeps you motivated!

Famous chocolate banana pudding from Magnolia Bakery


I couldn’t have asked for a better week and I can’t wait to see what this week and weekend holds for us. We have some fun tentative plans for the weekend so check back next weekend to see where we go!

 

Sar

 

Leave a Reply

